How Rahu and Ketu Help You Gain Power and Position

Rahu and Ketu are two eclipse points on the north and south nodes of the moon. According to Hindu mythology, solar and lunar eclipses are said to be brought by Rahu.

Rahu and Ketu can influence every aspect of your life including your career and profession. Just like other planets, the effect of Rahu and Ketu is dependent on the house they sit. However, Rahu and Ketu can also manipulate planets badly or in good ways when they combine with other planets, or when other planets look at Rahu and Ketu. When there is a bad influence of Rahu and Ketu, you will see a lot of ups and downs in life and your entire life will be a struggle.

In Hindu mythology, there is an interesting story about how Rahu and Ketu were created. In Satya Yuga, Gods and Demons jointly churned the ocean, and they divided everything that came out of the ocean. However, when Amrit came, Gods did not want to give it to Demons because Amrit made the drinker eternal. Gods created a plan to cheat demons. However, a demon named Swarbhanu found out the intrigues of Gods and secretly sat with Gods and drank Amrit. Soon, Lord Vishu found out that a demon drank Amrit. He decapitated Swarbhanu. Since the demon had already drunk Amrit, he did not die, instead, he became demi-God. His head became Rahu and torso became Ketu.

Depending on the position of moon at the time of your birth, Rahu and Ketu have placed 7 houses apart in your birth chart.  Rahu and Ketu never become together, they never come little close or go further apart, they are just 7 houses apart, 180 degree away from one another. Their movement is retrograde, they never move direct.

Rahu Symbolism

Rahu represents things you couldn’t achieve in the past life and now you are obsessed about those things in this life. Rahu is all about worldly desire. It creates obsession and does not give you easily, only after a hard work and after a delay you will achieve things you are obsessed about. Rahu is closely associated with Saturn. While Saturn does not create obsession, it rather blocks opportunities Rahu creates obsession. If you want to find out what you are obsessed about, you will have to look at the position of Rahu in your birth chart. Interestingly, Rahu tries to make you achieve something in a bad way. Rahu in the first house makes people politician, leader, and a person with a great position and power.  

Ketu Symbolism

While Rahu is reflection of Saturn, Ketu is reflection of Mars. While Rahu represents things that you could not achieve in the past life and thus you are obsessed with those things in this life, Ketu represents things that you conquered in the past life and now you don’t care much about those things. Ketu is considered spiritual planet as it makes people detached from worldly things. However, Rahu is all about material things.

How Rahu and Ketu Create Raj Yoga and Help you Gain Power and Position

Rahu and Ketu create good results in terms of generating wealth and achieving power and position. Rahu and Ketu create Raj Yoga and Dhan Yoga, which might give you power position and wealth. If Rahu and Ketu are in the Kendra or Trikona they will create Raj Yoga.  Kendra in the birth chart are the houses in the inner plate, in other words, the 1st, 4th, 7th and 10th house are the Kendra houses. Trikon are the three houses, 1st, 5th, and 9th houses. The first house or the Ascendant house is common for the Trikon or Kendra.

Raj Yoga is a situation when an individual will achieve power and position and become a big shot in their field/profession. Rahu and Ketu become powerful and help you gain power and position in the following conditions:

If the lords of Kendra and Trikon are excelled in Kendra and Trikon and are sitting with Rahu and Ketu;

When Rahu and Ketu sitting in the Kendra or Trikon with the lords of Trikon and Kendra;

Rahu and Ketu sitting with the lord of the 10th house (Saturn) or the lord of Ascendant (Mars) in the Trikon (first, fifth and ninth house);

Rahu and Ketu sitting with Venus and Saturn in the 10 house;


When Rahu and Ketu are in Taurus, Virgo, Gemini, Sagittarius, Pisces, Cancer and Capricon, they will help you excel in achieving position and power. Rahu does well in Mercury and Ketu does well in Jupiter.  Rahu in the first house and the 10th house will create a good Raj Yoga.

How and when the aforementioned conditions give favourable results depend on the Maha Dashas and Antar Dashas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.